Voting Rights and U.S. Elections: Are You Ready?

Wednesday, August, 26, 2020
12:00pm EST / 11:00am CST / 10:00am MST / 9:00am PST

The United States is faced with the challenge of providing equitable and accessible voting, a right extended to all American citizens. Many citizens struggle to exercise their right to vote due to voter registration restrictions, voter purges, felony disenfranchisement, and voter ID laws. Because of this, tens of thousands are barred from voting in states across the country. To address these issues, congregations are getting involved in their communities to combat voter suppression and to ensure all communities are prepared to vote during elections in the fall.

Join the National Benevolent Association for a webinar to engage with leaders who are tackling voting rights issues and learn how your communities can take action.

This event is one of many voting rights webinars the Disciples church is hosting, we invite you to register for our event and the others in August. 

Date: Wednesday, August 26, 2020 
Times: 12:00pm EST / 11:00am CST / 10:00am MST / 9:00am PST

Register here

Featured Speakers:

Rev. Dr. Cynthia Hale, founder and Senior Pastor of the Ray of Hope Christian Church in Decatur, GA.
Rev. Lori Tapia, National Pastor for Hispanic Ministries, Oficina Central Pastoral para Ministerios Hispanos in Indianapolis, IN.
Rachel Cometa Estuar, member of Whittier Area Community Church, CA. Rachel has worked with marginalized communities throughout her career as a consumer rights advocate and Pro Bono Coordinator for the Asian Americans Advancing Justice LA, as well as a multitude of roles in public health programs.
Rev. Janae Pitts-Murdock, Interim Senior Pastor of Light of the World Christian Church in Indianapolis, IN.
Marcus Winn, M.Th, Kansas Organizer at MORE², an ecumenical organization focused racial and economic equity, in Kansas City, MO.

 

voting-rights-webinar-fb-tw-li-1
Location
Live via Zoom and Facebook
Date: Wednesday, August, 26, 2020
Time: 12:00pm EST / 11:00am CST / 10:00am MST / 9:00am PST
Restoration of Voting Rights Webinar
EDUCATION AND TRAINING, PRISON & JAIL MINISTRIES , SOCIAL JUSTICE   |   VIDEO

Webinar: Restoration of Voting Rights

Millions of Americans are barred from voting because of criminal convictions in their past. This webinar will explore the history and current state of voting rights for those convicted of felony offenses.

Learn More