Webinar: Becoming Immigrant Welcoming Congregations: A Study of Resolution GA-1723

Thursday, June 22, 2017
1:00pm EDT / 12:00pm CDT / 11:00am MDT / 10:00am PDT

These are uncertain times for those living in our communities who have emigrated and settled in the United States. Harsh and negative rhetoric abounds, and families are being torn apart and separated every day. How do followers of Jesus Christ, himself part of a family forced to leave its homeland, respond to this crisis? What can we, as members of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), do to create safe, welcoming spaces for those whose lives are unsettled by the imposition of new laws and policies? 

This webinar will introduce General Assembly (Sense-of-the-Assembly) Resolution GA-1723 and begin a church-wide conversation exploring ways in which we can create, develop and maintain immigrant welcoming congregations as we strive to remain faithful to the Gospel.

Register Here >>

Webinar Presenters:

Register Today!

Resolution GA-1723

Read the full text of Resolution GA-1723, sponsored by:

Central Pastoral Office for Hispanic Ministries (Obra Hispana)
Refugee and Immigration Ministries
Disciples Immigration Legal Counsel
Iglesia Alas de Salvación, Chandler, AZ
Iglesia Cristiana Emmanuel, San Benito, TX
National Benevolent Association (NBA)
National Convocation
North American Pacific/Asian Disciples (NAPAD)
Disciples Women

grito12x16-f-a-with-words
Location
Live Webinar via Zoom
Thursday, June 22, 2017
1:00pm EDT

Image above: © 2016 Héctor Hernandez & Malanga Art Studio. All rights reserved.
ga17logo-blue-1

NBA @ GA Overview

July 8, 2017

Join NBA leaders and Disciples health and social service ministry partners at the 2017 General Assembly!

Read More

Prison & Jail Ministries Affinity Group

Through the NBA Prison and Jail Ministries Affinity Group, we focus on supporting congregations and individuals as they engage in prison- and jail-related ministries, and connecting conversations across Disciples-related ministries in order to strengthen this work.

Learn more